Start Quebec dating culture

Quebec dating culture

On December 15, 2000, concerned about what might happen to their heritage in the future, the Augustinians of Hôtel-Dieu de Québec drew up an application to have their collection classified as cultural property.

In keeping with the Augustinians’ vocation, the centuries-old buildings will also house a resource centre for informal caregivers as well as accommodations for caregivers and for visitors interested in a unique heritage experience.

In addition, Centre Catherine-de-Saint-Augustin will continue to raise the profile of the work and spirituality of Blessed Catherine of St. Part of the Monastère des Augustines complex will also be housed in the historic buildings of Hôpital-Général de Québec.

The Augustinians of Dieppe, France, arrived in Quebec in 1639 and set up temporary quarters in Sillery until their Hôtel-Dieu—or hospital—was completed in 1644.

Fire ravaged the premises in 1755, leaving only one 1695 wing and the “noviciate” wing from 1739–1740 in usable condition.

A total of 8,466 objects were inventoried in the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec collection, ranging from the centuries-old furnishings in the monastery to the items housed in the museum that the Augustinians opened in 1958 to mark Quebec City’s 350th anniversary.

The invaluable collection contains numerous pieces of furniture and many items made from gold, silver, copper, brass, and tin, in addition to clocks, ceramics, clothing, embroidered liturgical accessories, tapestries, paintings, statues, basketwork, aboriginal art, wax works, apothecary items, and medical instruments.

Mario Dufour, a priest from the Québec diocese and a cultural heritage expert, first thought up the project.